Book ‘Em North Carolina Visit

I had a wonderful trip to a North Carolina event yesterday ( http://bookemnc.org ). While I sold a double-digit amount of books, that wasn’t the point, the proceeds went to the Book ‘Em foundation. The Book ‘Em Foundation’s goal is to “highlight the connection between illiteracy / poor reading skills and crime rates.” Visit http://bookemfoundation.org/ for details on the organization.

While I expected meet many readers, which I did- young and old alike, I didn’t expect to meet so many cool, interesting, helpful and encouraging authors at one place. To be honest, I’ve never been around so many authors at one point in time. Yes, I’ve met authors before. One or two here or there…maybe a writers group meeting, but never 75+ authors under one roof.
What I found most exciting about this was how I, along side of another author new to these sorts of events, were both welcomed with open arms. I thought that since we were in essence “competing” to sell our books, there might be some sort of resentment. Boy was I wrong. We sat next to a seasoned author who, during the breaks between shoppers, gave us a verbal to-do list to help us promote our books on the web. I was stunned. Why was she giving us her secrets? They apparently worked for her; they shot one of her books to #6 on Amazon. (Yes, I will be implementing this in the near future! ) I met other seasoned authors, one being on a panel of which I was a member, who eagerly doled out amazing tips on character development, outlining, and even the current state of publishing.

Needless to say, I’m still overwhelmed with the experience, as well as the information I garnered from the event. If you hear of one of these Book ’em events coming to your neck of the woods, make sure you take time to visit!

About deanhardy23

Dean Hardy is the Bible Department Chair at Charlotte Christian School North Carolina. He is the author of middle grade fantasy Magnus Kir and an apologetics text entitled Stand Your Ground
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book ‘Em North Carolina Visit

  1. p.m.terrell says:

    Dean, thank you so much for participating in Book ‘Em North Carolina! It was a pleasure meeting you. I wish I’d had more time to spend with you. I really appreciate your comments about your experience. That is one thing we strive for. It is difficult enough to be an author in this industry; we all need other authors to support us and share their tips and experiences with us. We wanted to make this event one that is exciting for each and every author as well as the attendees. And your participation made it memorable to everyone who came past your table. I am looking forward to you coming back in 2013 and hopefully every year after that! – Trish Terrell, Book ‘Em North Carolina co-chair and Book ‘Em Foundation co-founder

    • deanhardy23 says:

      Trish,
      Thanks so much for taking your time and energy to promote authors and their work. Book ‘Em was a great experience and I hope that I am able to take you up on your offer!

Leave a Reply

